Summer in Hyères

from 11 July to 30 August 2020

villa Noailles
Montée Noailles
L’Annexe
26 rue de Verdun

From 11th July to 30th August
Open from Tuesday to Sunday from 2pm to 7pm.
Nocturnal on Thursday from 3pm to 8pm.
Closed on Mondays and public holidays.
Free entrance

This Summer the villa Noailles arts centre is obliged to modify its normal programme. Instead it will offer — as always — a moment of discovery, by serving as a bridge between the history of the site and contemporary artists.

The exhibition “Charles and Marie-Laure de Noailles, a life as patrons”, which was inaugurated ten years ago, will be renewed with a presentation of emblematic artists from the 1920s to the 1960s, such as Man Ray, Dora Maar, Pierre Chareau and Eileen Gray, as well as a preview of the exhibition of portraits — most of which are previously unseen — that François-Marie Banier made of the illustrious couple, in homage of Marie-Laure de Noailles, who died exactly 50 years ago.

The exhibitions of the villa’s architecture and its original interior décor, along with the elements which enriched it, will echo the programme in Toulon, in particular the luminous column which Jean-Gérard Mattio designed in the 1960s for the Caisse d’Épargne in Toulon, accompanied by its archives.

Whilst waiting for the 15th edition of the Design Parade festival in 2021, the villa Noailles proposes to rediscover a selection of past winners and finalists of the competition, dating back to 2006, along with a selection of their most recent works.

Drawing, painting, contemporary writing, will all be showcased in an exhibition entitled “Heroes, Heroines” which will unite the portraits of workers from Hyères and Paris who have been on the front line during the confinement period which we have just traversed. A commission by the Villa in April 2020, involving more than 20 artists.

Finally, the Villa has invited young artists to Hyères for artistic residencies.
In the dovecot in the garden, Sara Favriau has created an installation of sculptures created in March and May 2020. Whilst Antoine Carbonne, during his ongoing residency, has focused upon a project around the figure of Marie-Laure de Noailles, which is featured in the swimming pool, the squash courts and the gymnasium.

In the centre of Hyères, the villa Noailles will inaugurate L’Annexe, its new location and mediation space at the heart of the Parcours des Arts cultural circuit and whose interior was designed by the duo, Superpoly, from Hyères.

Guest scenographers :
Kim Haddou and Florent Dufourcq, interior architects Grand Prix Design Parade Toulon 2018

Summer in Hyères - © Villa Noailles Hyères

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

L’été à Hyères

du 11 juillet au 30 août 2020

villa Noailles
Montée Noailles
L’Annexe
26 rue de Verdun

Du 11 juillet au 30 Août
Ouvert du mardi au dimanche de 14h00 à 19h00.
Nocturne le jeudi de 15h00 à 21h00.
Fermeture le lundi et les jours fériés.
Entrée libre

Cet été le centre d’art villa Noailles est contraint de modifier sa programmation habituelle mais proposera, comme toujours, un moment de découverte faisant le pont entre l’histoire du lieu et les créateurs de notre temps.

L’exposition « Charles et Marie-Laure de Noailles, une vie de mécènes », ouverte il y a dix ans, se renouvellera avec une présentation d’artistes emblématiques de son histoire depuis les années 1920 jusqu’aux années 1960, à l’instar de Man Ray, Dora Maar, Pierre Chareau et Eileen Gray, ainsi qu’une préfiguration de l’exposition de portraits, pour la plupart inédits, que François-Marie Banier fit du couple illustre et en hommage à Marie-Laure de Noailles disparue il y a exactement 50 ans.

Les expositions sur l’architecture et la décoration du bâtiment d’origine et sur les pièces qui l’ont enrichi depuis feront écho à la programmation toulonnaise, notamment avec la colonne lumineuse que Jean-Gérard Mattio avait conçue pour la Caisse d’Épargne de Toulon dans les années 1960, accompagnée de ses archives.

En attendant la 15e édition du festival Design Parade en 2021, la villa Noailles proposera de retrouver les designers lauréats ou finalistes du concours depuis 2006, avec une sélection de leurs pièces les plus récentes.

Le dessin, la peinture, l’écriture contemporains seront mis à l’honneur dans l’exposition « Héros, Héroïnes » qui réunira les portraits de travailleurs Hyérois et Parisiens qui ont œuvré en première ligne pendant la période de confinement que nous avons traversée. Une commande lancée par le centre d’art en avril 2020 à plus de 20 auteurs.
Enfin, de jeunes artistes ont été invités à Hyères pour des résidences de création.
Dans le pigeonnier du jardin, Sara Favriau a créé une installation de sculptures réalisées en mars et en mai 2020. Antoine Carbonne développe quant à lui un projet autour de la figure de Marie-Laure de Noailles, lors de sa résidence en cours dans la piscine, le squash et le gymnase.

Et en centre ville, le centre d’art inaugure L’Annexe aménagée par le duo Hyérois Superpoly, son nouveau lieu d’exposition et de médiation au cœur du Parcours des arts.

Scénographes invités :
Kim Haddou et Florent Dufourcq, architectes d’intérieur
Grand Prix du Jury Design Parade Toulon Van Cleef & Arpels en 2018.

L’été à Hyères - © Villa Noailles Hyères

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.