Summer in Toulon

from 11 July to 31 October 2020

From 11 July to 31 october
Open from Tuesday to Saturday, 11am until 6pm.
Closed on Sundays, Mondays and bank holidays.

Ancien évêché
open from Tuesday to Saturday, 11am until 6pm
open Sundays from 11am until 1pm.
Closed on Mondays and bank holidays.

Free entry.

The Summer exhibitions in Toulon organised by the villa Noailles will this year offer an overview of the decorative arts from the post-war period to the most contemporary of propositions. This to happily look forward to in the next edition of Design Parade which has been postponed until 2021.

This chronological journey will open through a presentation of rare and exceptional works at the Galerie du Canon, which bear witness to the artistic frenzy of the post-war period and the reconstruction of the port in Toulon. The tapestries of Henri Pertus and Gilbert Louage, as well as a ceramic panel by Jean-Gérard Mattio and Christiane Carielle, created for the headquarters of Caisse d’Épargne (constructed in 1969), attest to the vitality of these local decorative arts. Important public commissions follow to bandage the wounds of a town that was heavily hit by the bombings, marking a turning point in the history of town planning and architecture. The architects Jean de Mailly, Alfred Henry, Serge Mikélian notably, alongside Mattio and the most important post-war designers (Charlotte Perriand, Eero Saarinen) redrew the silhouette of the harbour according to the principles of Modernism. The photographs of the construction work by Willy Maywald, along with contemporary views by Olivier Amsellem, Camille Vivier, Joël Tettamanti and Léopold Trouillas highlight this unique heritage.

The photographic work of François Halard, presented at the Hôtel des arts, will also return to some of these buildings which are the most emblematic of the period. The exhibition will also offer a modern perspective upon these important undertakings, and most notably upon the collaboration between Alfred Henry and Jean-Gérard Mattio for the construction and decoration of the swimming pool at Port Marchand (1970-1972).

At the former bishop’s palace, the programme will revolve around the works of two contemporary designers and artists Matthieu Cossé and Benoît Maire. The first is a former student of the Atelier de Sèvres, focusing in particular upon ceramics in a rich and joyous palette. The second, whose creations exist on the frontier between design and contemporary art, will present — amongst other things — a series of chairs that will decorate an architecture which has traversed all of the town’s history.

The artist Alexandre Benjamin Navet will provide the link between these offerings by participating in all three location: in the Rue des arts, he will offer a series of compositions inspired by Toulon’s heritage, he will entirely cover the facade of the Hôtel des arts and will create a fresco which will adorn the four walls of the courtyard at the former bishop’s palace.

Stage designers invited :
Les Crafties, Design Parade’s contest finalists 2018.

Summer in Toulon - © Villa Noailles Hyères

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

L’été à Toulon

du 11 juillet au 31 octobre 2020

Du 11 juillet au 31 octobre
Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 11h00 à 18h00

Ancien évêché
Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 11h00 à 18h00
ouvert les dimanches de 11h00 à 13h00

Fermeture le lundi
et les jours fériés.

Entrée libre

Les expositions estivales toulonnaises organisées par la villa Noailles proposeront cette année un tour d’horizon des arts décoratifs depuis l’après-guerre jusqu’aux propositions les plus contemporaines. De quoi attendre joyeusement la prochaine édition de Design Parade reportée à 2021.

Le parcours chronologique s’ouvrira par la présentation d’œuvres rares et exceptionnelles à la Galerie du Canon, qui témoignent du bouillonnement artistique de l’époque de la reconstruction du port de Toulon. Les tapisseries d’Henri Pertus et Gilbert Louage, ainsi qu’un panneau en céramique de Jean- Gérard Mattio et Christiane Carielle, conçus pour le siège de la Caisse d’Épargne construit en 1969, attestent de la vitalité des arts décoratifs locaux. Les grandes commandes publiques venues panser les plaies d’une ville lourdement touchée par les bombardements marquent un tournant dans l’histoire de l’urbanisme et de l’architecture. Les architectes Jean de Mailly, Alfred Henry, Serge Mikélian notamment, au côté de Mattio et des plus grands designers de l’après-guerre redessinent la silhouette de la rade selon les principes du modernisme. Charlotte Perriand meuble l’appartement témoin de la Frontale du port, tandis que le mobilier d’Eero Saarinen habille la Caisse d’Épargne. Les photographies des chantiers par Willy Maywald, tout comme les vues contemporaines d’Olivier Amsellem, Camille Vivier ou Joël Tettamanti mettent en lumière ce patrimoine unique.

Le travail photographique de François Halard, présenté à l’Hôtel des arts, reviendra lui aussi sur quelques-uns des bâtiments les plus emblématiques de
la période. Le parcours de l’exposition permettra ainsi de porter un regard contemporain sur ces grandes réalisations, et notamment sur la collaboration entre Alfred Henry et Jean-Gérard Mattio pour la construction et la décoration de la piscine du Port Marchand (1970-1972), ou encore sur la villa E-1027 de l’architecte et décoratrice Eileen Gray.

À l’ancien évêché, la programmation s’articulera autour des œuvres de deux designers et artistes contemporains, Matthieu Cossé et Benoît Maire. Le premier, ancien étudiant de l’Atelier de Sèvres, travaille notamment la céramique dans une palette riche et joyeuse. Du second, dont les créations se situent à la lisière du design et de l’art contemporain, nous présenterons entre autres une série de chaises venant habiller une architecture qui a traversé toute l’histoire de la ville.

L’artiste Alexandre Benjamin Navet fera le lien entre ces propositions en intervenant dans les trois lieux : dans la Rue des arts, il proposera une série de compositions inspirées par le patrimoine toulonnais, il recouvrira entièrement la façade de l’Hôtel des Arts et réalisera une fresque qui ornera trois murs de la cour de l’ancien évêché.

Scénographes invitées :
Les Crafties, Finalistes du concours Design Parade Toulon 2018

L’été à Toulon - © Villa Noailles Hyères

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.