Studio KO

Studio KO - © Villa Noailles Hyères

Two letters united as initials to form a single name which radicalness is unequivocal: KO.

Since they met at the Ecole d’architecture des Beaux-Arts, Paris and the subsequent creation of their studio in 2000, Karl Fournier and Olivier Marty sign with their singular writing at every scale of their projects. Classically trained, the duo claims a global and immersive approach to its profession, ranging from architecture and interior design to furniture design. At the heart of its approach, an uncompromising freedom and the challenge to build an unprecedented story, the most in tune with the truth of the context.

Based in Paris and Marrakesh, Studio KO creates all over the world contemporary, public or residential architectures, inspired by the intelligence of places. Far from being confined to a stylistic grammar or any formal systematism, the agency is characterized by an attitude. A great respect for nature and existing cultures, the boldness of the aesthetic wide gap with an attention to craft and local know-how, a constant research for roughness. For an architecture of the oxymoron. Radical and archaic. An architecture of the senses which reveals without arrogance, from the foundations to the olfactory signature, its singularity and mystery.
For every project starting, there is an encounter. First a human one, through the inaugural talk with a commissioner. Secondly, a physical and sensory one through the discovery of a site imposing itself with its landscape, its social and economic fabric. Then comes the time for the dialogue between the elements and the experimentation of an uncharted territory. A work bordering on archaeology, leading the architects to excavate the site and its history to capture its very essence. This long-term creative process enables Studio KO to carve its natural path. This is a prerequisite for the emergence of contemporary, accurate and vibrant forms.

Opting for primary and ancestral materials imbued with the hand of man – stone, wood, metal, leather – the agency builds places in constant tension. Pure lines contrast with the materiality of textures, the rough with the organic, clear with darkness, sophistication with bareness. The vernacular simplicity with modernist spirit. The rough and impressive outdoors of its private villas, mineral monoliths named by a single sibylline letter, stand in contrast with sensuous and transparent indoors which involve its owner in a symbiotic relation with the environment.
Every project is an opportunity for an unprecedented experimentation, for new textures, techniques and lights encounters. In a “here and now” relentlessly calling on the senses and the human.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Studio KO

Studio KO - © Villa Noailles Hyères

Deux lettres associées en initiales pour un seul nom à la radicalité sans équivoque : KO.

Depuis leur rencontre à l’école d’architecture des Beaux-Arts de Paris et la création consécutive de leur studio en 2000, Karl Fournier et Olivier Marty apposent leur écriture singulière à toutes les échelles de leurs projets. Héritier d’une formation classique, le duo revendique une approche globale et immersive de son métier, de l’architecture à l’architecture intérieur en passant par le design de mobilier. Au cœur de sa démarche, une liberté sans compromission et l’exigence de bâtir un scénario inédit, le plus en phase avec la vérité du contexte.

Basé à Paris et à Marrakech, Studio KO crée partout dans le monde des architectures contemporaines, publiques ou résidentielles, inspirées par l’intelligence des lieux. Loin de s’enfermer dans une grammaire de styles ou tout systématisme formel, l’agence se définit par une attitude. Une déférence à l’égard de la nature et de la cultures existantes, l’audace du grand écart esthétique, une attention à l’artisanat et aux savoir-faire locaux, une recherche permanente d’aspérités. Pour une architecture de l’oxymore. Radicale et archaïque. Une architecture du sensible qui, des fondations à la signature olfactive, révèle, sans arrogance, sa singularité et son mystère.

Au commencement de chaque projet, figure une rencontre. Humaine, avant tout, par la conversation inaugurale qui s’instaure avec un commanditaire. Physique et sensorielle ensuite, par la découverte d’un site qui s’impose à travers son paysage, son tissu social et économique. Puis, vient le moment du dialogue entre les éléments et l’expérimentation d’un territoire inconnu. Travail à la lisière de l’archéologie qui mène les architectes à fouiller le site et son histoire afin d’en saisir son essence. Ce processus créatif de longue haleine permet à Studio KO de se frayer un chemin naturel. Condition sine qua non à l’émergence de formes contemporaines, justes et vibrantes.

Privilégiant les matières primaires et ancestrales empruntes de la main de l’homme - pierre, bois, métal, cuir -, l’agence construit des lieux en tension permanente. La pureté des lignes contraste avec la matérialité des textures, le rude avec l’organique, le clair avec l’obscur, la sophistication avec la nudité. La simplicité vernaculaire avec l’esprit moderniste. Les extérieurs âpres et imposants de ses villas privées, monolithes minéraux nommés d’une seule lettre sibylline, s’opposent à des intérieurs sensuels et transparents qui engagent leur propriétaire dans une relation symbiotique avec l’environnement.

Chacun des projets se prête à une expérimentation inédite, à de nouvelles rencontres de textures, de techniques, de lumières. Dans un « ici et maintenant » qui convoque, sans relâche, le sensible et l’humain.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.