Commissariat de Marie-Ange Brayer

from 26 June to 1 November 2020

The utopia of Italian design

Collections of the Centre Pompidou
Hôtel des Arts, Toulon

After developing the exhibition “Nouvelles Vagues” held at the Cercle Naval of Toulon from June to November 2019, the Centre Pompidou presents the exhibition “Futurissimo. Utopia in Italian Design” whose opening will take place at Hôtel des Arts of Toulon on 25 June 2020.
This new exhibition is part of the three-year partnership agreement signed on December 20, 2019 between the Centre Pompidou, the villa Noailles and the Métropole Toulon Provence Méditerranée, whereby the Centre Pompidou undertakes to develop every year – until 2022– a design exhibition at the Hôtel des Arts based on the works from its collection.

Under the curatorship of Marie-Ange Brayer, Chief Curator of the Design and Industrial Prospective department at the Centre Pompidou, “Futurissimo. Utopia in Italian Design” explores the unique position of Italian design through a chronological and thematic layout, from the interwar period to the noughties. The exhibition addresses the singularity of Italian design stemming from architectural culture and modern avant-gardes such as futurism in the early 20th century. Between experimentation and radical art, transcending the oppositions between industry and craft, Italian design paved the way for another approach to the object, beyond functionalism, thus renewing the connection with domestic and architectural environment.

Following the rationalist aesthetics (Pagano, Albini) of the 1930s-1940s, Italian industrial design achieved international success as early as the 1950s (Sottsass, Borsani, Colombo, Castiglioni, etc.). As a laboratory of the major social and political changes of the 20th century, Italian design always expanded its areas of research to architecture and to the city. Ranging from the critical utopias driven by radical architecture (Archizoom, Superstudio, Pettena, Ugo La Pietra) to the “re-appropriation” of objects (Autoprogettazione by Enzo Mari, Riccardo Dalisi’s «poor objects»), Italian design opened up to “collective creation”.

Such experimentations were to inspire Studio Alchymia (Guerriero, Mendini) and Memphis, around Ettore Sottsass, in the early 1980s. The “mundane object” promoted by these movements combined with a renewal of the decorative dimension, thereby transforming common objects into iconoclastic ones, while postmodernism was questioning the notions of sign and image in their relation to history.

Italian design therefore stands “beyond design”: Joe Colombo’s “anti-design” in the 1960s or Ettore Sottsass Jr.’s “counter design” who is in opposition to rationalism, to make design part of an emotional experience. Theoretician and designer Andrea Branzi also called for an “emotional design” basing on our emotional and perceptual experience, an animistic return to the symbolic and archetypal dimension of objects, which refers to the spirit of utopia pervading Italian design.

The exhibition is divided into approximately ten sections: Rationalism, Baroque, Seats, Light Fixtures, Industrial Design, Radical Design, Memphis, Postmodern City and focuses on two leading figures in design: Ettore Sottsass and Andrea Branzi. Through the creation of colourful environments and fictional objects, designer Jean-Baptiste Fastrez designed a scenography telling a sensory story about colours, lights, materials and opening onto an imaginary theatre of objects.

Curated by Marie-Ange Brayer, Curator in charge of Centre Pompidou’s Design collections, produced by the Hôtel des Arts in association with the villa Noailles, this exhibition brings the unique adventure of Italian design to life through more than two hundred works – design objects, drawings, photographs, installations, etc. – created by some fifty designers.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Commissariat de Marie-Ange Brayer, scénographie de Jean-Baptiste Fastrez

L’utopie du design italien

Collections du Centre Pompidou
Hôtel des Arts, Toulon

Après avoir conçu l’exposition « Nouvelles vagues » présentée au Cercle naval de Toulon de juin à novembre 2019, le Centre Pompidou réalise l’exposition « Futurissimo. L’utopie du design italien » qui sera inaugurée à l’Hôtel des arts de Toulon le 25 juin 2020.
Cette nouvelle exposition s’inscrit dans la convention triennale de partenariat signée le 20 décembre 2019 entre le Centre Pompidou, la Villa Noailles et la Métropole Toulon Provence Méditerranée par laquelle le Centre Pompidou s’engage à concevoir chaque année - jusqu’en 2022 - une exposition de design à l’Hôtel des Arts à partir des œuvres de sa collection.

Sous le commissariat de Marie-Ange Brayer, conservatrice en cheffe du service design et prospective industrielle au Centre Pompidou « Futurissimo. L’utopie du design italien » explore la place unique du design italien à travers un parcours à la fois chronologique et thématique, allant de l’entre-deux-guerres aux années 2000. Cette exposition interroge la singularité du design italien, issu d’une culture architecturale et des avant-gardes modernes, tel que le futurisme au début du XXe siècle. Entre expérimentation et radicalisme, transcendant les oppositions entre industrie et artisanat, le design italien ouvre la voie à une autre approche de l’objet, au-delà du fonctionnalisme, renouvelant la relation avec l’environnement domestique et architectural.

Après l’esthétique rationaliste (Pagano, Albini) des années 1930-1940, le design industriel italien connaît un succès international dès les années 1950 (Sottsass, Borsani, Colombo, Castiglioni, etc.). Laboratoire des grandes transformations sociales et politiques du XXe siècle, le design italien a toujours étendu son territoire de recherche à l’architecture et à la ville. Des utopies critiques portées par l’architecture radicale (Archizoom, Superstudio, Pettena, Ugo La Pietra) à la « réappropriation » des objets (Autoprogettazione d’Enzo Mari, « objets pauvres » de Riccardo Dalisi), le design italien s’ouvre à la « création collective ».

Ces expérimentations viendront nourrir Studio Alchymia (Guerriero, Mendini) et Memphis, autour d’Ettore Sottsass, au début des années 1980. L’« objet banal », défendu par ces mouvements, se conjugue à un renouveau de la dimension décorative, métamorphosant les objets ordinaires en objets iconoclastes, tandis qu’au même moment, le post-modernisme interroge les notions de signe et d’image dans leur rapport à l’histoire.

Le design italien se tient ainsi « au-delà du design » : « anti-design » de Joe Colombo dans les années 1960 ou « contre-design » d’Ettore Sottsass Jr. qui s’oppose au rationalisme pour inscrire le design dans une expérience émotionnelle. Théoricien et designer, Andrea Branzi réclame lui aussi un « design émotionnel », qui prenne appui sur notre expérience perceptive et émotive, un retour animiste à la dimension symbolique et archétypale des objets, qui renvoie à l’esprit d’utopie qui traverse le design italien.

Cette exposition se décline en une dizaine de chapitres : Rationalisme, Baroque, Assises, Luminaires, Design industriel, Design radical, Memphis, Ville post-moderne, avec un focus sur deux figures majeures du design, Ettore Sottsass et Andrea Branzi. A travers la création d’environnements colorés et d’objets fictionnels, le designer Jean-Baptiste Fastrez a conçu une scénographie qui raconte une histoire sensorielle de couleurs, de lumières et de matières et ouvre sur un théâtre imaginaire des objets.

Conçue par Marie-Ange Brayer, conservatrice, en charge des collections design au Centre Pompidou, cette exposition, produite par l’Hôtel des Arts, avec la collaboration de la Villa Noailles, fait revivre l’aventure unique du design italien à travers plus de deux cents œuvres – objets de design, dessins, photos, installations, etc. – réalisées par une cinquantaine de designers.

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.